Plenary & invited speakers

Confirmed Plenary Speakers

Pietro Gambardella, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland.

Pietro Gambardella has been conducting research in the field of magnetism for 15 years. He is currently Professor of Magnetism and Interface Physics at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETHZ). He graduated in Physics at the University of Genova, Italy, and obtained his PhD from the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL, Switzerland) in the year 2000, working on the epitaxial growth and magnetic properties of metallic nanowires. He was a Postdoctoral Fellow at the Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung in Stuttgart, and a Research Associate at the EPFL from 2001 to 2006. Before joining ETHZ in 2013, he was an ICREA Research Professor and Head of the Atomic Manipulation and Spectroscopy Group at the Catalan Institute of Nanotechnology (ICN) in Barcelona, Spain. He is the recipient of the 2003 ABB award of the Swiss National Science Foundation, the Prix Latsis Universitaire, the 2007 Young Scientist Award of the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility, and of a Starting Grant from the European Research Council.



William J. Evans, University of California, Irvine, U.S.A

William Evans received a B.S. from the University of Wisconsin, where he did research on pentaboranes with Professor Donald Gaines, and a Ph.D. from UCLA with Professor Fred Hawthorne studying metallocarboranes.  He did postdoctoral studies in transition metal chemistry with the late Professor Earl Muetterties at Cornell University. When he began his independent career in 1975 at the University of Chicago, he chose an area of research completely different from his training and experience, namely the chemistry of the rare earth metals and actinides.  After receiving tenure at Chicago in 1982, he was recruited to the University of California, Irvine.  He has received the American Chemical Society Award in Inorganic Chemistry, the American Chemical Society Award in Organometallic Chemistry, the Sir Edward Franklin Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry in England, the Frank Spedding Award for Excellence in the Science and Technology of Rare Earths, the Terrae Rarae Award of the Tage der Seltenen Erden Society in Germany, the UCI Physical Sciences Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education Award, and the UCI Distinguished Faculty Award for Research.



Christian Serre, Institut Lavoisier, Université de Versailles-St-Quentin, France

Christian Serre, 44 years old, is an engineer from the Ecole Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles de Paris. He obtained a PhD in Inorganic Chemistry in 1999 at University of Versailles St Quentin, France. After a post-doctoral fellowship in the USA in 2000 within the CNRS-Rhodia Inc. joint laboratory, he moved to a permanent CNRS research position in 2001 in the ‘Porous Solids’ research group in Versailles. Since 2009, he is now director of research at the head of the Porous Solid Group in Versailles and will become director of ILV in January 2015. He received the CNRS bronze medal in 2006, a European Research Council starting grant in 2008 and the Solid State Chemistry award of the French chemical society in 2010. His research topics deal with the synthesis, structure determination and applications, particularly in nanoscience, of porous hybrid solids. He is currently coauthor of more than 221 articles and 13 patents (h factor of 62, > 18500 citations).

Eugenio Coronado (Instituto de Ciencia Molecular (ICMol), Universidad de Valencia. Catedrático José Beltrán 2, 46890 Paterna, Spain) 




Invited Speakers


Gabor Molnar, Laboratoire de Chimie de Coordination, CNRS - Université de Toulousse, (France)

Smail Triki,Universidad de Brest-CNRS (France) 

Alicia Forment,University of Valencia, Instituto de Ciencia Molecular (ICMol) (Spain)

Arzhang Ardavan, Oxford University, (UK)

Marco Evangelisti Instituto de Ciencia de Materiales de Aragón (Spain)

Talal Mallah, Université Paris Sud (France)

Jeremy M Rawson, Windsor University (Canada)

Jose Ignacio Pascual, CIC nanoGUNE Consolider, (Spain)

Liviu Chibotaru KU Leuven, (The Netherlands)

Rodrigue Lescouezec, Universite Pierre et Matie Curie, Paris, (France) 

Rui Tamura Kyoto University, Kyoto, (Japan)

Richard Layfield, Manchester University (UK)

Katsuya Inoue, Research Group of Solid Material Chemistry, Hiroshima University, Japan

Carlos Gómez University of Valencia, Instituto de Ciencia Molecular (ICMol) (Spain)

Wilfred van der Wiel (Kai Wang), University of Twente, (The Netherlands)